· Home

 Umpire School Reports:

· Before School
· Week 1
· Week 2
· Week 3
· Week 4
· Week 5

 CA HS Baseball Reports:

· East Bay NCS
· Weekly Quizzes
· WQ Answers

 Northwoods Reports:

· Drive Out
· First Half
· Second Half
· NWL WQ Answers *NEW*


· Guestbook
· Email Me

 Also See:






 Auto Notify:
If you want to receive email when I update this site, submit your address below:

Weekly Quizzes

Weekly Quiz Competition

Send your answers via email, and remember: creative and/or humorous answers, though not necessarily correct, are always encouraged, and may earn runner-up prizes. Good luck!

Also see Weekly Quiz Answers and the Northwoods Weekly Quiz

#1 (2/26): With a runner on first, the pitcher comes set, then makes a pickoff attempt by simply turning and throwing to the base. Unfortunately, the throw ends up in the dugout. So, where should the umpires place the runner? If the pitcher had stepped backward off the rubber before making his wild throw, would the award change?

#2 (3/5): With a runner at first, the batter swings and misses the first pitch, which hits him (in the shoulder, I might add -- I guess if that thing's about to hit you, you might as well swing at it!). As the ball rolls away from the catcher, the runner advances to second. What's the ruling?

#3 (3/12): At the Major League level, suppose the manager brings in a new pitcher, moves the current pitcher to right field, and takes the right fielder out of the game. Is this move legal? What happens to the DH? Assuming the right fielder was batting second and the DH was hitting seventh, who hits in which spot now?

#4 (3/19): With runners on second and third with one out, the batter lifts a popup to the shortstop. For some reason, however, everyone on the field believes there are two outs: both runners break when the ball is hit, and after he makes the catch, the shortstop rolls the ball toward the mound as he and most of his teammates jog off the field. The runner from third crosses the plate, but the runner from second sees the catch and veers straight to his dugout from a point halfway down the third base line. Needless to say, some confusion ensues as coaches start yelling and players from the team just at-bat start taking their defensive positions. Amid the chaos, the catcher (who never entered his dugout) runs over and picks up the baseball, then goes and steps on third base. The questions are: should the umpire uphold this appeal? Does the run score? In fact, there are many variations on this play, but let me pick just one to explore: suppose that after the catch, all the defensive players simply head to the dugout and all the offensive players come out to play defense. How should the umpire rule? Whacky...

#5 (3/26): With a runner at third, the pitcher throws a pitch in the dirt. The catcher successfully blocks the ball, but it rolls several inches in front of him. The catcher removes his mask with his right hand, and as he glances down to third to check on the runner, reaches out with with the mask and scoops the ball back towards his body. What's the ruling?

#6 (4/2): The offense has a runner at first, who's stealing on the pitch. The batter swings and smokes a line drive that hooks down the left-field line. A fan reaches over the wall and catches the ball, which is still in flight, in fair territory below the top of the fence. In other words, the ball would have hit the wall on the fly in fair territoty had the fan not interfered. Where should the umpires place the runners?

#7 (4/9): With first and second and no one out, the batter attempts a sacrifice bunt. His bunt strikes the ground in fair territory, then rebounds and contacts the bat (still in the batter's hands) a second time above fair territory. The catcher then pounces on the ball and throws the batter out at first as the two runners advance. What's the ruling?

#8 (4/16): In a Major League game, the pitcher delivers what he thinks is a strike, but the umpire calls it a ball. The pitcher looks bewildered, and from the dugout the manager says, 'Where did that pitch miss? That's right there!', to which the umpire responds, 'You can't argue balls and strikes.' Is the umpire correct? At that point, does the umpire have sufficient grounds to eject the manager?

#9 (4/23): At the beginning of the inning as the batter digs in, the pitcher waits on the rubber and licks the fingers on his pitching hand to get a better grip on the baseball. What's the ruling?

#10 (5/6): With a runner at first, the batter squares around to attempt a sacrifice bunt. When he contacts the ball, his left foot is clearly out of the batter's box (about eight inches in front of home plate), but his bunt goes foul. Is there any penalty?

#11 (5/17): With a runner at second, the batter lines a sharp single to left, where the fielder charges hard and makes a strong throw to the plate. As the play develops, however, the third baseman sticks out his glove (why, I don't know) and makes contact with the runner rounding the bag. The runner decides to hold at third, but it appears he would not have scored anyway. How should the umpire rule?

#12 (5/23): With a runner at first, the batter grounds sharply to short. The fielder boots the grounder, but the ball ends up rolling toward second base, where the second baseman reaches down an picks up the ball with his bare hand while lunging back and tagging the base with his empty glove, ahead of the sliding runner. What's the call?

Copyright © testogen xr review | testofuel price | prime male side effects | golfgearcomp.com. All rights reserved.