IkeTheUmp.com
Navigation
· Home

 Umpire School Reports:

· Before School
· Week 1
· Week 2
· Week 3
· Week 4
· Week 5

 CA HS Baseball Reports:

· East Bay NCS
· Weekly Quizzes
· WQ Answers

 Northwoods Reports:

· Drive Out
· First Half
· Second Half
· NWL WQs
· NWL WQ Answers *NEW*

 Miscellaneous:

· Guestbook
· Email Me

 Also See:

 

 

 

 

 

 Auto Notify:
If you want to receive email when I update this site, submit your address below:





[Admin]
NWL Weekly Quizzes

Northwoods League Weekly Quiz Competition

Send your answers via email, and remember: creative and/or humorous answers, though not necessarily correct, are always encouraged, and may earn runner-up prizes. Good luck!

Also see NWL Weekly Quiz Answers and the East Bay High School Weekly Quiz

#1 (6/10): With one out and runners at first and third, the batter smokes a sinking liner at the third baseman, who dives and smothers the ball (no catch). He recovers and records the force at second, but there's no chance for the double play. However, the batter-runner, having touched first, is now walking away from the bag toward his dugout, some 15-20 feet in front of the base in foul ground. The second-baseman notices the wandering runner and relays the ball to first, where the fielder tags him. Is the runner out, or he protected after over-running first base?

#2 (6/17): As the leadoff man in the bottom of the second digs in, torrential rain arrives and the umpires halt play. Assuming the weather prevents any more action, what happens to the game a) in the Major Leagues, and b) in a league such as ours (and many Minor Leagues, or National Association leagues) that employs the 'Optional Suspended Game Rule'?

#3 (6/24): With two outs and a runner at third, the batter faces a 2-2 count. On the pitch, the runner breaks for the plate in an attempt to steal home [Ed. note: second straight-steal of home we've seen this year!]. As the catcher moves to receive the pitch and apply the tag, he tips the batter's bat mid-swing with his glove. In the end, the batter only succeeds in fouling off the pitch. What's the ruling?

#4 (7/1): The batter walks to lead off the third inning. Before a pitch to the next hitter, the defensive manager emerges from the dugout and produces his lineup card, claiming, 'Number 10 (the guy that just walked) isn't listed -- he should be out.' Upon checking your own copy of the lineup, you find that the player in question is listed as wearing number 20. In other words, his name is correct, but his number is wrong. How should you rule?

#5 (7/8): With the bases loaded and one out, the offense attempts a squeeze. As the runner from third breaks for the plate, the batter squares and bunts the ball high up in front of home plate (fair ball). As the runners all retreat to their bases, the pitcher charges in and settles under the popup. But instead of catching the ball cleanly, he cradles the ball in his glove before deliberately allowing it to fall to the ground, then flips the ball to the catcher, who records the force at home and then fires to third to force the runner from second. Does the double-play stand or should the umpires make a different ruling?

#6 (7/15): With a runner at first and no outs, the batter squares around to sacrifice. The pitcher races over and fields the bunt along the first base line, but as he goes to apply the tag on the batter-runner, the batter-runner stops and starts heading back toward home plate (remaining in the basepath). Immediately, the defensive manager starts screaming that batter-runner isn't allowed to head back toward home -- what's the call?

#7 (7/22): With second and third and two out, the pitcher goes from the windup. On the 0-2 pitch, the runner from third breaks to steal home, and the pitch hits him in the head as he slides head-first across the plate. Meanwhile, the runner from second advances to third, and then sees the catcher chasing after the deflected pitch and races home himself. What's the ruling?

#8 (7/29): With first and third and two outs, the offense tries a bit of a ruse to steal a run: as soon as the pitcher comes set, the runner from first simply breaks for second, trying to draw a throw and allow his teammate to score from third. The pitcher does throw to first, but the fielder only takes a couple of steps before stopping and directing his attention to the runner at third, who's forced to hold. The runner from first also only takes a few steps, and then inexplicably begins heading back toward first (and the first baseman holding the ball). As he approaches the fielder, the runner loops around him (more than three feet away), but the fielder is so concerned with the runner at third that he never fully stretches his glove to apply a tag. The runner returns safely to first, but the defense claims he's 'out of the baseline' -- What's the call?

#9 (8/5): Working a six-man crew (an umpire at each base and also one down each foul line), the batter rips a screaming liner just inside the bag at third, which the third-base umpire immediately points fair, but the left-field umpire inadvertantly signals foul. The play continues normally, but when it's over the defensive manager races out to argue. What should the umpires do?

#10 (8/12): During the last game of the season (where the outcome will not affect the playoffs), vicious rain suspends play after three and a third innings. Although it takes nearly two hours and the outfield clock now reads after 11pm, the home team succeeds in drying the field for play. However, both team owners come onto the field and begin discussing a logistical problem: the visiting team has a four-hour drive home immediately after the game, and several players have early morning flights to catch. To solve the problem, the owners propose a five-inning game instead of nine, and claim that since they both agree, they have the authority to make such an alteration -- true or false?


Copyright © testogen xr review | testofuel price | prime male side effects | golfgearcomp.com. All rights reserved.